I am new to VFDs and LCDs,... I have some questions.

Take a load off and chat!

Moderators: Henry, Mods

tribaloverkill
LCD!

I am new to VFDs and LCDs,... I have some questions.

Post by tribaloverkill »

First,... I was browsing through the gallery and you guyz have some nice S#$%! Very nice. Ok,... I am building a machine and want a nice display in the front. I dont know the first thing about these matrix orbital displays. First question,... how do you get them to display stuff? Is it all through software? What the the limitations of what I can and can not display? I mean I saw over the MO's site where some of the displays said "Winamp is now playing.", "CD-ROM is opening,...", etc. Is that static text or is that display dynamically displaying text where winamp is actually playing and the CD-ROM is actually opening? What about monitoring temps,... I would have to get one that I can hook temp probes too or is there another way of monitoring temps? Can someone give me a reall quick run through of how these things work?

Tom
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital

Post by Tom »

To get things displayed on the lcd screen you need to use some kind of controller. In your case, your controller will be the pc. The text or graphics are displayed onto the screen with the use of software. People can either write their own software program that can send text and commands to the display or they can use the already made programs like LCDC. You will be able to use almost any programming language, aslong as it can write to the com port.

One limitation will be the amount of custom characters for the alpha numeric displays. The alpha numeric displays are limited to 8 custom characters. You will not be able to change the font size on the alphanumerics; only on the graphic displays. If you have any more specific questions you have on the limitations, you can ask because this is a broad question.

The samples like "winamp playing" are dynamic. Those mentioned samples can be done on LCDC.