GTT70A-TRP-BLM-B0-H1-CS-V5-ND hard to get to communicate

GTT TFT Support

Moderator: Mods

Post Reply
portwellsg
LCD?
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:33 am

GTT70A-TRP-BLM-B0-H1-CS-V5-ND hard to get to communicate

Post by portwellsg » Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:51 am

Hi ,

We are new to GTT70A ( juz brought 2 pcs for evaluation), pls advice us as we have difficulty in getting connect with GTT70A with PC RS232 com port. ( not very stable)
We did not brought the accessory Rs232 and power cable, thus we are making our own cable.
Can u pls advice whether pins signal connection are correct?
The attachment GTT communication.png is no longer available
- We had to make several attempt before we can get connected with GTT support tool(2.2.0.0).
- When there is no response , 2nd attend of "test connection" will get “hang” as below pic.
GTT communication.png
GTT communication.png (19.39 KiB) Viewed 106 times
Thanks.
KH

Raquel
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital
Posts: 692
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: MO Office

Re: GTT70A-TRP-BLM-B0-H1-CS-V5-ND hard to get to communicate

Post by Raquel » Mon Jul 23, 2018 10:26 am

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Matrix Orbital.

Your connections to the GTT70A data/power look correct. Try to do a continuity test to make sure the connections are made.
Does the GTT70A power up with a GTT startup screen? Can I please get the PCB version of your GTT70A?

Also, please make sure when using the GTT Support Tool (click on "Test Connection") that the correct ComPort is chosen.
The default baud is 115200.

The ESCCPC5V should be able to help out with a quick solution.

Thank you,
Raquel
Raquel Malinis
Design and Development
Matrix Orbital

Daniel Divino
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 9:38 am

Re: GTT70A-TRP-BLM-B0-H1-CS-V5-ND hard to get to communicate

Post by Daniel Divino » Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:48 am

Hi Portwellsg,

I believe you had contacted me last week regarding the same issue.

In your message you sent a screenshot of your GTT Support tool settings, and it appeared that Flow Control was enabled on your GTT Support Tool.

Please note that the GTT comes with Flow Control disabled by default. I suggest you disable Flow Control on your GTT Support Tool as well to ensure that the PC and display can communicate properly.

Cheers,
Daniel Divino
Daniel Divino
Technical Support
Matrix Orbital

portwellsg
LCD?
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:33 am

Re: GTT70A-TRP-BLM-B0-H1-CS-V5-ND hard to get to communicate

Post by portwellsg » Thu Jul 26, 2018 3:44 am

Hi Daniel,

My hardware rev is R3.0.2
The cable i had done with pin to pin test and also my com port test using a Burnintest utility.
Uncheck the flow control will result unable to detect the device.
With flow control, i still sometime manage to connect.( like i mention not very stable)
Pls advice that u think can helps.
Meanwhile i will redo another com cable and setup another PC to test.

Thanks.
KH

portwellsg
LCD?
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:33 am

Re: GTT70A-TRP-BLM-B0-H1-CS-V5-ND hard to get to communicate

Post by portwellsg » Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:38 am

Hi,

I still have issues using GTT suport tool(v2.2.0.0)to communicate with my PC com after testing with another cable and PC.
Using GTT designer ( v1.12.0.10123), it could not detect the GTT70A at all.
I had given up and wait for the ESCCPC5V to arrive.
Pls bear with me for some of the questions,

1) How to my find and know my current firmware and bootloader file version? ( saw some user upgrade the firmware and bootloader in the forum.)

2) Do i need to insert the original SD card in order to get the GTT device to communinicate with the PC com port.

Daniel Divino
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 9:38 am

Re: GTT70A-TRP-BLM-B0-H1-CS-V5-ND hard to get to communicate

Post by Daniel Divino » Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:46 pm

Hi KH,

I apologize for the delay.

Could you take a look at your port settings in Device Manager? Please ensure that your com port's baud rate (default 9600) matches the GTT Support Tool's baud rate (default 115200), and the GTT's baud rate. Also, make sure that Flow control is set to none.

Once you have matched the baud rates, try opening the GTT Support tool, disabling flow control, and opening the port. Once opened, try sending a command to the display, such as the clear screen command. This will help determine if you can send data through the port.

Also, please note that the GTT designer will not be able to detect your GTT unless you connect using the Mass Storage header. The Mass Storage header is the only header that connects directly to the GTT's SD card, and this connection is required if you want to deploy your project files onto the display.

Could you please try connecting to your GTT's mass storage header and applying power to the display? The Mass storage header cannot source enough current to power the display, so you may need to apply power through the populated barrel jack, or the 6 pin communication header. Then see if the display appears in the GTT Designer.

Regarding your questions:

1) You can send the Get Protocol Revision command to the display to determine what firmware is loaded on the display.

2) We can only guarantee compatibility with SD type Cards (128MB to 2GB), but customers have been able to use SDHC(4GB to 32GB) and SDXC (64GB to 2TB) cards on the GTT in the past. You won't require an SD card to communicate with the PC's com port, but an SD card is needed if you want to deploy your project.

Cheers,
Daniel
Daniel Divino
Technical Support
Matrix Orbital

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest