How can GX be made to sleep?

GX and Typhoon hardware, this includes, displays, cables and accessory cards.

Moderator: Mods

Post Reply
AndyRowan1
LCD?
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 1:36 am
Location: Anaheim, CA

How can GX be made to sleep?

Post by AndyRowan1 » Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:51 am

I am running WMC on Windows 7 (64bit), 24/7.
It took me long enough, but recently I found that I could save 120W of electricity by having the box put itself into S3 sleep when it was idle.
I would like to reflect that state by turning the GX off.
It seems that this can be done, because bkripley put up a post asking how to get a display refreshed when awakening from S3.

How can the GX be turned off?

The IR receiver with the GX is not involved.
It is disabled and that functionality is taken up by a MS receiver that responds to native MS codes.

It would be even better if LCD studio could detect the S3 state and effect a "standby" display.

Tino
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Matrix Orbital
Contact:

Re: How can GX be made to sleep?

Post by Tino » Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:15 am

Hi Andy,

Apologies for the late response.
Can you confirm how you are powering your GX?
Are you powering through the USB or the Alternate power header?

If you have any other questions or concerns please feel free to ask.
Thank you
Martino
Martino DeLeon
Matrix Orbital
Technical Support Representative

AndyRowan1
LCD?
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 1:36 am
Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: How can GX be made to sleep?

Post by AndyRowan1 » Mon Sep 09, 2013 6:39 pm

Martino,
The GX is connected via cable to a USB riser on the MB
Andy

Tino
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Matrix Orbital
Contact:

Re: How can GX be made to sleep?

Post by Tino » Tue Sep 10, 2013 8:52 am

Hi Andy,

When your PC goes into sleep mode (S3) your display should reflect that automatically. There shouldn't be any power going to the display while your computer is in sleep mode.

I have hooked a GX up to my PC through USB and this is what happens when I put it into sleep.

Is there any settings that you have set that I could maybe put in place to try and fully replicate the issue you are having?

Martino
Martino DeLeon
Matrix Orbital
Technical Support Representative

AndyRowan1
LCD?
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 1:36 am
Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: How can GX be made to sleep?

Post by AndyRowan1 » Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:45 am

Martino

You are right, there is nothing, directly involving the GX 3.0 or LCD studio, that needed to be taken care of.

My problem was that the drop to S3 state was not complete.

Once I managed to get the box to sleep & wake reliably, the GX did what it should.
Getting the box to sleep & wake cleanly and predictably was a quite a chore though, with W7 (x64), MCE & homegroup file sharing.
That is off the topic of this thread so, unless someone inquires, I won't plow that ground here.

Thanks
Andy

Tino
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Matrix Orbital
Contact:

Re: How can GX be made to sleep?

Post by Tino » Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:26 am

Hey Andy,

That is great that you got everything working!

If you have any other questions or concerns please feel free to ask.
Thank you
Martino
Martino DeLeon
Matrix Orbital
Technical Support Representative

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests