MOP-GL12232B-BGFW on Micro-ATX PC board

Support for MOC/MOS/MOI/MOU/X-Board/MOP

Moderator: Mods

Andrew Kesterson
LCD?

MOP-GL12232B-BGFW on Micro-ATX PC board

Post by Andrew Kesterson »

A few not-so-quick questions, some of which are a followup to questions asked by smic717394 in this thread. For background, I'm a software engineer with background in sheet metal fabrication, and hobbyist electronics. I'm familiar with soldering, using a voltmeter, etc etc.

I am putting together a guitar effects unit / recording studio from a standard Micro-ATX form PC board, and intend it to run headless (for reasons not worth going into here). As a result, I would like to put a graphical LCD (for display of equalizer and menus, etc) and a keypad somewhere on the outside of it. What mainly concerns me is the internal connections of the unit.

Specifically, I'm looking at the MOP-GL12232B-BGFW and am wondering exactly how I'd go about hooking it up. In smic's thread, he had an available internal 25 pin parallel connector, but I don't. It would have to be connected through the parallel port on the motherboard (I don't intend to try removing the port to hardwire the unit to the board). I am having trouble marrying the parallel pinouts to the pinouts provided in the manual (I'm a software engineer, not a hardware engineer). How would I have to go about hooking up the device to a standard Micro-ATX motherboard with an existing attached Parallel port?

Also, I found This power connector which purports to work with the previously mentioned MOP unit. The device I'm building will be running from a FlexATX 12v 250W power supply (the unit's enclosure is very small). Given that it will be powering the motherboard (w/ 2 PCI sound cards), 1 80mm fan, and 1 IDE hard drive - do you think there will be enough power remaining to drive the LCD? And since I don't see any pre-existing connectors on the MOP unit, what is the MOP<->5v Power cable pinout I'd need to follow to hook it up?