lk202 USB block/blinking cursor problems (VB)

LK/ELK/VK/PK/OK/MX/GLK/EGLK/GVK/GLT Series

Moderators: Henry, Mods

dconnell
LCD!
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Reston, Virginia
Contact:

lk202 USB block/blinking cursor problems (VB)

Post by dconnell »

Cannot seem to get either the block cursor or the blinking cursor to come on.

mscomm1.output = chr$(254) & chr$(74) does nothing....

nor does 254 + 83...

I'm not having any difficulty with anything else... so I think I have a grasp of how to use the commands. I need this to assist with keypad navigation in setting time...

DWC

Henry
OMNIPRESENT
OMNIPRESENT
Posts: 3002
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Henry »

Interesting, let me test it on the one I have here at home... can you please tell me the PCB rev and the firmware of the display?
Henry J.
President
Matrix Orbital

dconnell
LCD!
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Reston, Virginia
Contact:

Post by dconnell »

LCDC says its an LK202-24-USB or MX2xx rev1-3

Henry
OMNIPRESENT
OMNIPRESENT
Posts: 3002
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Henry »

Well, this is what I have found... PCB 1.4 Firmware 2.0. If the screen is empty and you send the cursor or underline on nothing will happen, but as soon as you send a character to the screen the block or underline will apear. Once you do this, it always works until the unit if powered off. Try it and see if you can duplicate this.
Henry J.
President
Matrix Orbital

Henry
OMNIPRESENT
OMNIPRESENT
Posts: 3002
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Henry »

dconnell wrote:LCDC says its an LK202-24-USB or MX2xx rev1-3
Send [##254][##54] to the display and tell me what it comes back as.
Henry J.
President
Matrix Orbital

dconnell
LCD!
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Reston, Virginia
Contact:

Post by dconnell »

I would have expected this code to place the cursor home (left - line 1), then output an 'H' with block/blinking cursor, then output an 'I' with an underline cursor.

It simply results in an 'I' in the home position.

Private Sub Command3_Click()
MSComm1.Output = Chr$(254) & Chr$(72)
MSComm1.Output = Chr$(254) & Chr$(83)
MSComm1.Output = "H"
MSComm1.Output = Chr$(254) & Chr$(74)
MSComm1.Output = "I"

End Sub

Henry
OMNIPRESENT
OMNIPRESENT
Posts: 3002
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Henry »

What firmware do you have?
Henry J.
President
Matrix Orbital

dconnell
LCD!
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Reston, Virginia
Contact:

Post by dconnell »

How can I tell?

Henry
OMNIPRESENT
OMNIPRESENT
Posts: 3002
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Henry »

dconnell wrote:How can I tell?
Send [##254][##54] to the display and tell me what it comes back as.
Henry J.
President
Matrix Orbital

dconnell
LCD!
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Reston, Virginia
Contact:

Post by dconnell »

When I send chr$(254) & chr$(54)... nothing happens.

The lcdtester I have from matrixorbital is returning a version 32... I believe. It wouldnt recognize the unit until I manually updated the database to 0x36 from 0x6

Henry
OMNIPRESENT
OMNIPRESENT
Posts: 3002
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Henry »

dconnell wrote:When I send chr$(254) & chr$(54)... nothing happens.

The lcdtester I have from matrixorbital is returning a version 32... I believe. It wouldnt recognize the unit until I manually updated the database to 0x36 from 0x6
Sounds like you might need a new memory chip firmware... Someone will post it tomorrow with instructions.
Henry J.
President
Matrix Orbital

dconnell
LCD!
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Reston, Virginia
Contact:

Post by dconnell »

Thanks. I've been trying to develop software for my automated airgap switches (www.autoairgap.com) to enable me to get away from having to have customers use a hyperterminal to control/configure the devices...

I've been struggling with these two initial units (lcds) for some time now... argh!!!

Thanks again.

DWC

Henry
OMNIPRESENT
OMNIPRESENT
Posts: 3002
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Henry »

dconnell wrote:Thanks. I've been trying to develop software for my automated airgap switches (www.autoairgap.com) to enable me to get away from having to have customers use a hyperterminal to control/configure the devices...

I've been struggling with these two initial units (lcds) for some time now... argh!!!

Thanks again.

DWC
I just spoke with one of the engineers and he did confirm that a possible bug might have snuck through on a handful of units... but on the bright side the fix is very easy and quick... I pulled another unit I have here, a few weeks older and it did exactly what you discribed...
Henry J.
President
Matrix Orbital

dconnell
LCD!
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Reston, Virginia
Contact:

Post by dconnell »

Okay... well it's nice to know that I'm not crazy or inept. It is disconcerting that I've spent this much time working through this when it simply may be a quality control issue...

Please advise on how I can fix this asap, I'll be back at this late thursday evening/night est

Paradigm
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Post by Paradigm »

The memory file was screwed up for a bit, and has since been fixed. Apparently your unit was programmed with the messed up version. Good thing it's a very easy fix. First you will need:

http://www.lcdforums.com/download/MemUploader.zip

Unzip it into a directory and follow these steps

1) Load up uProject
2) Goto the uploader tab
3) In the left half of the screen expand upload
4) Drag the memory icon into the right hand pane
5) Browse to the directory where you downloaded the .mem file into
6) Then you should be able to select the mem file frome the list, and pres OK
7) Press F9, select your COM-Port and press execute

After that is done, power down the unit and power it back up and you should be fine. If anybody is unsure if they have the bad memchip file in their unit, you can download and apply this patch if your board is Rev 1.3 or 1.4.

**** DO NOT APPLY THIS FIX TO ANY OTHER PCB REVS ****
******* YOUR UNIT WILL BECOME NON FUNCTIONAL *******

The only side effect is that any special characters, fan/gpo settings, startup screens or any other settings you have will be lost.
Last edited by Paradigm on Mon Sep 22, 2003 4:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
James McTavish, P.Eng
Director of Engineering
Matrix Orbital

Post Reply