USB DRIVER!!!

LK/ELK/VK/PK/OK/MX/GLK/EGLK/GVK/GLT Series

Moderators: Henry, Mods

Bellerophon
LCD!
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 9:58 pm

Post by Bellerophon » Thu Jul 24, 2003 6:29 am

done many times.....no luck

DrBob147
LCD Geek
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 1:53 pm
Location: PA, USA
Contact:

Post by DrBob147 » Thu Jul 24, 2003 8:15 am

Let us know exactly what you're boing...from start to finish...and we'll see if we can't get you through this. I know it's frustrating but it is probably something silly that's being overlooked. Take a deep breath and work with us.
. DrBob147 .
---------------------------------
"We make a living by what we get,
we make a life by what we give."

Bellerophon
LCD!
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 9:58 pm

Post by Bellerophon » Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:02 am

ok...Fresh install of windows xp pro sp1 slipstream with the MO unplugged from the USB. Download the 1.1 drivers and unzip to folder on desktop. Plug in MO and xp detects new hardware and brings up installation screen.

From there I follow these steps to the letter. (except I point to the new drivers)

Once it gets to step/picture 2.6...it states that driver failed to install because name is already in use by another service or something like that.

From there, I follow all the uninstall directions listed in this thread and try to start again...just to get the exact same results.

DrBob147
LCD Geek
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 1:53 pm
Location: PA, USA
Contact:

Post by DrBob147 » Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:44 am

The problem is usually with the second part of the install...Win XP auto installs it's own drivers for the Serial Port which are in conflict with the M.O. drivers...that's why you get the warning "Serial Port name already exists...cannot install this...blah, blah", or something like that.

At this point, disconnect the lcd from the power (USB)...then go to Control Panel...then to Add/Remove Programs...then search for M.O.Drivers...once found, click Remove. Once this is done, then reconnect the USB cable to your LCD display. When Win XP says "new hardware found"...start the New Hardware Wizard, but DO NOT let it Find the Drivers for this Device...instead, tell it that YOU will choose the Drivers and when asked for a location, point it to your Desktop and then to the V1.1 drivers there (if the Desktop is where you have unzipped them).

The important part is to NOT let the Hardware Wizard look for the drivers, PERIOD. You must point it manually to the new V1.1. DO NOT leave the M.O. CD in your drive during the Hardware Wizard phase so it cannot auto load the original drivers automatically (Win XP loves to do this without you realizing it. With XP, the usual sequence DOES NOT WORK, so don't follow it or you will find yourself back to that point again and you'll just keep "chasing your tail"...good luck! :D
. DrBob147 .
---------------------------------
"We make a living by what we get,
we make a life by what we give."

Bellerophon
LCD!
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 9:58 pm

Post by Bellerophon » Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:03 am

yup, tried all that several times. I've even picked "list all drivers" and specifically picked the corrent .inf for it to load. It still gets that error.

DrBob147
LCD Geek
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 1:53 pm
Location: PA, USA
Contact:

Post by DrBob147 » Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:17 am

Somehow the original drivers are still loaded in Win XP...make sure there aren't any additinal copies left in the Control Panel-Add/Remove Programs. Additionally, somehow there may be something left in the Registry that is not getting removed when you removed the original drivers. If so, it may need expertise that I don't have.

How about it Miles or Henry...any thoughts?
. DrBob147 .
---------------------------------
"We make a living by what we get,
we make a life by what we give."

Henry
OMNIPRESENT
OMNIPRESENT
Posts: 2832
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Henry » Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:20 am

DrBob147 wrote:Somehow the original drivers are still loaded in Win XP...make sure there aren't any additinal copies left in the Control Panel-Add/Remove Programs. Additionally, somehow there may be something left in the Registry that is not getting removed when you removed the original drivers. If so, it may need expertise that I don't have.

How about it Miles or Henry...any thoughts?
I'm watching this thread DrBob147 and your pretty much saying everything I would be.

Bellerophon, if you do a search in the registry do you have those two keys there? (as shown on page one)
Henry J.
President
Matrix Orbital

Miles
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital
Posts: 1105
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 4:00 pm

Post by Miles » Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:40 am

Bellerophon,

Make sure you follow the step that DrBob has suggested, "make sure there aren't any additinal copies left in the Control Panel-Add/Remove Programs". I have used this advice with other customers and has worked like a charm!! Let us know how you make out...
Miles Y.
Head of Technical Support
Product Manager
Matrix Orbital

Bellerophon
LCD!
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 9:58 pm

Post by Bellerophon » Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:23 am

I'll keep trying. I always pull out the info in the registry and even search the windows directory and pull out any related .inf files that might be left behind. The fact that it still failed after a format and fresh install makes me think its something more than what we're looking at. This is an nforce2 board, maybe there's a conflict somewhere that isn't showing its head.

Miles
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital
Posts: 1105
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 4:00 pm

Post by Miles » Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:26 am

Do you have any other USB devices attached...?
Miles Y.
Head of Technical Support
Product Manager
Matrix Orbital

Bellerophon
LCD!
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 9:58 pm

Post by Bellerophon » Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:34 am

yes and no, the board has a built-in 6in1 memory card reader. It runs off one of the usb controllers.

DrBob147
LCD Geek
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 1:53 pm
Location: PA, USA
Contact:

Post by DrBob147 » Thu Jul 24, 2003 1:22 pm

Let's try to remove all the possible conflicts by the process of elimination...can you unplug the 6 in 1 card from the USB Host? If you can, then remove those drivers, then try to install V1.1 M.O. Drivers. If your LCD then works, you know that is where the conflict is. At that time you may be able to reinstall the drivers for the card reader AFTER the LCD is up and running...good luck!
. DrBob147 .
---------------------------------
"We make a living by what we get,
we make a life by what we give."

Miles
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital
Posts: 1105
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 4:00 pm

Post by Miles » Thu Jul 24, 2003 1:34 pm

I couldn't of said it any better myself...Thanks DrBob..! :D
Miles Y.
Head of Technical Support
Product Manager
Matrix Orbital

Henry
OMNIPRESENT
OMNIPRESENT
Posts: 2832
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Henry » Thu Jul 24, 2003 1:44 pm

ok, re-download the drivers from the link again, the size of the file should e 324,083 bytes. I chanted and sacrificed a virgin here... lets hope it works.
Henry J.
President
Matrix Orbital

Bellerophon
LCD!
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 9:58 pm

Post by Bellerophon » Thu Jul 24, 2003 3:52 pm

Success! :o

Although I'm unsure if it was the new drivers or the fact that I disconnected and uninstalled the 6in1 card reader before installing. Sweet deal guys, thanks for the help!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 6 guests